RSS Feed

Let’s Sing!

Posted on

Beautiful Open Eyes

Probably everyone who knows me, knows how much I love to sing.  Unfortunately, some recent health issues have made it so that I’ve  hardly been able to croak out a tune in months!  So, I want to spread around some new words (i.e., two more verses) to a well-known song that I have always loved:  “Open Our Eyes, Lord”  (the original words and music by Robert Cull, © 1976 Maranatha! Music).  Most of you will probably be familiar with it, therefore it will be very easy for you to sing in my stead!

But first, as a backdrop, here are verses from Ephesians 1:15-22 (NKJV).  And though I am no Paul the Apostle, I would love all my family in Christ, whom I know and love, to take these same words to heart from me to you:

“… after I heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus
and your love for all the saints,
do not cease to give thanks for you,
making mention of you in my prayers:
that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory,
may give to you the spirit of wisdom
and revelation in the knowledge of Him,
the eyes of your understanding being enlightened;
that you may know what is the hope of His calling,
what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints,
and what is the exceeding greatness of His power
toward us who believe,
according to the working of His mighty power
which He worked in Christ when He raised Him from the dead
and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places,
far above all principality and power and might and dominion,
and every name that is named,
not only in this age but also in that which is to come.
And He put all things under His feet,
and gave Him to be head over all things to the church,
which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills all in all.”

And now for the song:

Verse 1 (Original song by Robert Cull)

Open our eyes, Lord, we want to see Jesus,
To reach out and touch Him, and say that we love Him.
Open our ears, Lord, and help us to listen.
Open our eyes, Lord, we want to see Jesus.

Verse 2
Open our eyes, Lord, we want to see Jesus.
Reveal all Your splendor and fill us with wonder!
Open our minds, Lord, and help us to know You.
Open our eyes, Lord, we want to see Jesus.

Verse 3
Open our eyes, Lord, we want to see Jesus,
To tell of His Glory, His eternal story!
Open our mouths, Lord, and help us speak freely.
Open our eyes, Lord, we want to see Jesus.

What is one of your favorite songs–one that best shows Jesus to you?

About esztertun

Follwer of the Lord Jesus Christ, wife and mother in a family of 4, homeschool parent, occassional ESL teacher, whose interests over the years have included singing, dressage, and studying Hungarian. (Former missionary in Hungary and Slovakia.)

4 responses »

  1. Hard to pick just one…but I have always loved The Lord Make A Way For Me

    I know the Lord will make a way for me
    I know the Lord will make a way for me
    If I live a holy life, shun the wrong and do the right
    I know the Lord will make a way for me

    I know the Lord has laid his hand on me
    I know the Lord has laid his hand on me
    There is healing in his wings, that is why I shout and sing
    I know the Lord has laid his hand on me.

    Reply
  2. At The Cross Lyrics (Hillsong)

    VERSE I
    Oh Lord You’ve searched me,
    You know my way;
    Even when I fail You,
    I know You love me.
    Your holy presence
    Surrounding me
    In every season,
    I know You love me;
    I know You love me.

    CHORUS:
    At the cross I bow my knee,
    Where Your blood was shed for me,
    There’s no greater love than this.
    You have overcome the grave,
    Your glory fills the highest place,
    What can separate me now?

    VERSE 2:
    You go before me,
    You shield my way,
    Your hand upholds me;
    I know You love me.

    BRIDGE:
    You tore the veil, You made a way
    When You said that it is done.

    And when the earth fades,
    Falls from my eyes,
    And You stand before me,
    I know You love me;
    I know You love me.

    Reply
  3. Hey Esther,
    Thanks for your message. You can e-mail me to chat about the Organic Church book. Happy to converse!
    My contact details are on my page.
    Blessings,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

